Lynn Lights on the MBTA Underpass

Beyond Walls, aligned partners and volunteers installed “Lynn Lights” in 2018 in response to community feedback for more lighting downtown.


Together, we implemented 16,000 square feet of dynamic LED Lighting under three dark underpasses of the underlit overhead rail line that transects downtown Lynn.


Our team of in kind and pro-bono partners delivered a community driven need of improving lighting in and around the MBTA commuter rail station and its adjoining underpasses (Downtown Action plan, 2016). The Underpasses of Central Square, Washington Street, and Market Street now have an exciting and visually compelling field of dynamic and color changing full-spectrum lighting that not only delights the eye, but attracts more people to the sites, contributing to pedestrian safety along the undersides of this public infrastructure.

Lynn Lights on the MBTA Underpass


 Funders: Barr Foundation, MassDevelopment Commonwealth Places, Patronicity

Scale: 600 linear feet of Dynamic LED lighting  

Locations: Market Street, Washington Street and Central Square Underpasses Lynn, MA

Status: Completed, Summer 2018

Pro-Bono Architectural Design: Parke Macdowell (Payette) 

Pro-Bono Lighting Design: Dan Weissman (Lam Partners), Ron Kuszmar and Sean Harding (Port Lighting Systems)

Pro-Bono Electrical Engineering: Mark DeVeau (BALA Engineering)

Volunteer Install Team: Ron Kuszmar and Sean Harding (Port Lighting Systems); International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, Local 103 (IBEW, Local 103). Foremen : Scott Ellis and Tim Mackey. Electricians: Rob Mackey, Jacques Stiller, Bill Johnson, Rich Stimpson, Jim Cafferkey, Mark Galloway, Steve Illingworth, Marc Ayala, Cole Maribito, Rob Fournier, Mike Favale, Steve Pereira, Andrew Garner, Justin Griffin, Nick Longo, Vic Slepoy, Bill Carey, Bob Azalay, Sean Toomey, Glen Gowey, Nick Nackley, Kevin Desmond, Dave O’loughlin Jr., Joe Curton, Joe Kelley, Wayne Mounce, Jim Alison, Lewis Gomez, Ed Benham, Mike Trachtenberg, Paul Donlan, Pat Haggerty, Steve Kid, Ed Ferzoco, Jim Keough, Steff Jervey and Al Russo

Lynn Vocational Technical Institute (L.V.T.I.)- Electrical Interns: Cameron Fentress, Jose Zacarias Lopez, Rartha Kou Thach